Monday, 28 December 2015

Life Coaching - Key Professional Standards

The key professional standards for the coaching profession are set out under the EMCC (European Mentoring & Coaching Council) Code of Ethics.  The code of ethics covers broad ethical standards advocating that coaches uphold diversity, equal opportunities and human dignity.

Under the ‘Competence’ area of the Code of Ethics the coach pledges to operate to a degree of capability and expertise appropriate to client’s needs.  The coach also pledges to continuing professional development and supervision under a suitably qualified Supervisor as set out in the EMCC guidelines.

EIA stands for European Individual Accreditation which is the relevant accreditation for a newly qualified or about-to-qualify Life Coach.  EQA stands for European Quality Assurance which is the benchmark accreditation for coaching providers.

The EIA distinguishes between four levels of Coaching practitioners:

Foundation ● Practitioner ● Senior Practitioner ● Master Practitioner.

There are eight Coaching / Mentoring categories covering:

Commitment to Self-development
Managing the Contract.
Building the Relationship.
Enabling Insight. Outcome and Action.
Use of Models, techniques and tools.
Establishing a culture of evaluation of outcomes 

There are specific capability indicators for each of these categories relevant to each of the four levels of Practitioner.

The EMCC Code of Ethics requires that all members have regular supervision. It is up to the individual coach to seek a supervisor or supervisory body that is appropriate to the life coaching area in which the individual coach has chosen his or her practice.  EMCC offers professional membership and EIA European Individual Accreditation requires a renewal or re-assessment every 5 years.  Other coaching bodies also offer professional membership, for example ICF (International Coaching Federation).

No comments:

Post a Comment